Don’t Tell Me How To Fucking React

10 Nov

In case you are someone who knows me, follow me on the Twitterical Explorer.

The “Open Letter” is the wannabe blogger’s (it me) way of jerking off.  Whenever a divisive topic comes up, plenty of open letters sprout up in which someone tries to rise above the fray.  The other use of the open letter is to score cheap brownie points by people who think like-minded.  “An Open Letter To My Teacher” is a great one because, who doesn’t love teachers?

The open letter (I’ve utilized this too, in the spirit of transparency) is basically setting yourself up to be portrayed as “not all of us”.  It is a way to embolden yourself as a equally an independent thinker but who also is aware that there are differences in opinion.  In some ways its charming, in other ways its patronizing.  A person could have amazing intentions but then it goes around Facebook, and of course gets distorted in some other way.

My original post was going to a breakdown of an article that has been constantly shared on my feed.  It was going to be me trying to make jokes (mostly failing) and overall negative in tone.  I of course accept the results of this election, regardless of my distaste, but there needs to be some things that have to be addressed.

Stop telling me how to fucking react.  Stop telling me to be respectful.  Stop telling me the proper way to go about things.  Stop telling me how.  Stop telling me why.  Stop telling me when.

I’ve accepted the results of this election pretty easily.  I’ve even talked to a few Trump people who I personally like, because they were happy and friends talk.  Democracy, in our system, worked.  I can’t afford for Trump to be a disaster.  No one can, and especially some more than others.  Like all presidential races, this is telling us where the direction of our country is headed.  There’s nothing I can do to prevent a Trump presidency anymore.

But you know stop with this wishy-washy bullshit.  Stop with this trying to take the high road nonsense.  Stop with the sorry not sorry.  Stop saying that we all need to talk to each other.

No we do not.  We know what we believe about each other.  Hearing you bloviate about your takes on taxes, foreign policy and income inequality will not get us anywhere other than acknowledging we are mostly different.

This isn’t my first one, 2010 and 2014 electorally were way worse than 2016.  My person lost to yours.  But really nothing much else changed.  Couple backbench congresspeople are gone.  A new Senator or three.  A lot more incumbents stayed on, there will be elections that go my way and ones that will go yours.  That’s nature, especially in a duopoly.

Instead, I want YOU to ask yourself questions.  I want YOU to think about everything that is going on around you.  Don’t leave your house to expand your horizons, stay inside to think about why this election is the way it is.

I want you to wonder why your friends are terrified and upset.  Its not “HASHTAG SAFE SPACE LIBRULLS” or “oh, they just lost and are butthurt”.  I want you to wonder why these protests are ongoing and the damage that has been inflicted.  I want you to wonder why we don’t like you now more than we did in 2014.  Genuinely think about it, even if its for five minutes.

I want you to wonder why Trump won, the way he did, primarily and nearly solely off the backs of white voters.  I want you to wonder why most minority demographics voted more against him than for him.  Are you going to blame the media?  Probably.  But how come you can show an upsetting video of a man being beat up for allegedly supporting Trump and that is an indictment on Hillary voters BUT David Duke and the KKK are not yours?

Also, why the fuck are they on your side?  Is it that they just love your dude’s opinion on unions?  Have you ever wondered, even for a microcosm, why that was?  I know why people support Trump to a degree.  But doesn’t that make you think “hmmm, why is this a thing”?

Half the people I know, and yes incredibly micro small sample size, that are telling me to calm down are the ones who freaked the fuck out when marriage equality became law of the land.  They are the ones who acted like Caitlyn Jenner winning a fucking ESPY (the fakest award in the history of the galaxy) was akin to giving Hitler a Purple Heart.  They were the ones who were absolutely convinced, before the mother fucking election started, that it was already rigged for months.  They wonder why “grab them by the pussy” (while problematic they admitted) was relevant.  They promised Obama would tear the fabric of society because I don’t know, he was not born in America or was a closeted Muslim or actually named Barry Soetoro.

They wonder, “whoa how come people are calling me racist/sexist/homophobic FOR MY VOTE”.  Now, if someone said that to me….of course I would deny, but I would wonder why so many people would think that way about me.  When I share a fucked up Trump thing happening, your reaction shouldn’t be “hey, I’m not a racist” but “wait, why do I think that I’m being called a racist when no one mentioned me?”.

I don’t think you are a prejudiced unless I have pretty confident reason to believe otherwise.  I wouldn’t be friends with you if I had my doubts.  But when you immediately play defense, it does make me think otherwise.

Look, Trump will be President for the next four years.  I trusted you that your worst fears under Obama wouldn’t happen and I think we confirmed it.  Now I need to do the same.  A President will barely get anything, IF ANYTHING, they promised accomplished.  Legislation is notoriously glacial and the system is designed to move the ball inches, not yards.  A President is about a message.

What do you think the message is right now?  Is it really just making America the same as it “used to be”….whatever the fuck that means?   What part of you aligns itself with the KKK?  What parts of his campaign turned you off and what was the tipping point in getting you back on the wagon?  Did you believe resistance to the Affordable Care Act outweighed a lack of knowledge on critical foreign policy issues like the nuclear triad?

Why do you think “we should move on”, forty eight hours after a year and a half of this shit is the right thing?  Why do you think Democrats gave Republicans the war in Iraq (supported by our 2016 nominee!) and the PATRIOT Act?  Why do you think we tried to give you a nationwide law based off your 2012 nominee’s statewide one?

I want you to genuinely think like I do.  But we have different opinions.  However, I’ve spent the last forty eight hours wondering how my party underperformed so badly amongst rural and suburban demographics.  I’m still wondering, but at least I’m thinking.

Don’t fucking tell me how to react.  Tell me why I should accept.

 

One Response to “Don’t Tell Me How To Fucking React”

  1. Jiggles November 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

    Liberals ARE overreacting, they don’t seem to be able to tell the difference between Trump’s diet racism versus the KKK’s real actual hate of minorities. All I see on social media are people offering each other comfort as if some tragedy happened. Some posting the suicide hotline because they have friends they legitimately feel will harm themselves. Not too long ago a liberal college offered counseling services to students upset about “Trump 2016” written with chalk on the ground. Though I agree with the Trumpers need to stop trying to take the high road, they would have been just as salty if they lost. #Everybodyisstupid2016

Leave a Reply

